The Dead and Those About to Die

dead and those about to die

Before everyone begins moaning about a new book focusing on not just the Normandy invasion, but also the American task of invading and securing Omaha Beach, Dr. John McManus has been researching D-Day and the 1st Infantry Division for years. A full professor of U. S. military history at Missouri University of Science and Technology, his latest book The Dead and Those About to Die: D-Day: The Big Red One at Omaha Beach, is out in book stores now. This coming Monday, May 5th, he will be discussing and signing the book at the National Press Club in Washington, D. C. This is McManus’ 11th book, and I’ve read probably 8 or 9 of them and have yet to be disappointed. From what I’ve seen so far, the reviews on this one are very good. Plus, with the 70th anniversary of D-Day a little more than a month away, McManus’ new book is very timely.

I will post a review of the book once I have read it. I’m about to deliver my Final Exam in the Civil War course I am teaching this semester, so once that is through, I’m hoping to have a little more free time for reading. If you’ve read it already, shoot me a comment or email and let me know what you thought!

GIs of the 1st Infantry Division "Big Red One," leave port at Weymouth, England, for the invasion of Normandy on June 6th, 1944.  Photo by Robert Capa

GIs of the 1st Infantry Division “Big Red One,” leave port at Weymouth, England, for the invasion of Normandy on June 6th, 1944. Photo by Robert Capa

5 comments on “The Dead and Those About to Die

  1. Lisa says:

    I plan to read this book. I read his book, “Alamo in the Ardennes” and it changed by life. It’s what sparked my huge interest in WWII. My father was captured on the 4th day of the Bulge. Being he hardly talked about the war, I always assumed he didn’t see too much action. Yeah right!

    • navyphoto22 says:

      Hi Lisa,

      What unit was your father with? I can’t even imagine having gone through the Battle of the Bulge. It’s really no wonder the men of that generation rarely spoke about it, after all the fear and horrors they experienced.

      Dr. McManus is a friend of mine, and I have read just about all of his books. I’m currently in the midst of reading this latest one by him, and I’m really enjoying it. His research is solid and he really knows his stuff when it comes to Normandy. “Alamo in the Ardennes” is one of my favorites. It’s just edge-of-your-seat good!

    • navyphoto22 says:

      Hi Lisa,

      What unit was your father in?

      • LisaLisa says:

        Hi Navypho9to, so sorry for the delay in responding. I just saw your messages.

        My father was with the 28th Div, 110th Inf, Comp I. Alamo talks much about his division that’s why I was so surprised to learn all the action he saw.

        How do you like the book? I’ll read it someday. So many books, so little time :)

        It was so nice to see all the attention our brave veterans received during the 70th anniversary. I watched D-Day in HD on the History channel and Dr. McManus was a speaker. Such a great documentary. There’s so much to learn about that battle.

      • navyphoto22 says:

        Hi Lisa,

        The 28th Division was a very good division. They suffered a great deal in the fall and winter of 1944, especially in the Hurtgen Forest. Very brave men all!

        The book was great! I haven’t gotten around to reviewing it yet though. Dr. McManus is a pretty good friend of mine (we both share a love of hockey, and of course, history), so I knew right away the book would be good because his research is excellent and his writing is very good as well. It’d be tough to criticize his work, but I’m sure I could find something to pick on him about!

        I always enjoy seeing the WWII generation get their well-deserved kudos. They were just an extraordinary group of Americans, and I wish we had another 700 years with them around

Leave a Reply

